Technology

How to Use Apple’s Check In Feature in iOS 17 (2024)

Written by teobrito.com

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Open the text window with the person you sent the Check In to.
  3. Tap on the Check In window within the message thread. Tap Details, then Add Time, and select one of the available options.

How to Cancel a Check In

Whether it’s because you’ve arrived at your destination or you just want to end the session, you can cancel it whenever you want. To cancel a Check In:

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Open the conversation with who you’re using Check In with.
  3. Tap on the Check In window, tap Details, and then tap Cancel Check In.

What About the Find My App?

Check In is somewhat similar to Find My—in addition to tracking items and devices, Apple’s location tracking app allows you to share your location with those close to you and vice versa. You can also stop sharing your location whenever you’d like. It’s accessible within the Messages app, too.

But there are a few major differences. For starters, Find My gives you the option to share your location for one hour, until the end of the day, indefinitely. You can also follow the journey in real time. Check In only pinpoints the destination on the map.

Unlike Check In, Find My doesn’t come with the same safety features like prompts when you’ve gone off track, the route traveled, details on battery life, and the aforementioned details above. Those you share your location with will also have to constantly check the Find My app to see your status.

Those you’re sharing your location with via Find My won’t receive updates or an ETA on your journey. Plus, you have more control over the amount of data you share with Check In (like location versus time). It’s a better option for those who want the ability to see someone’s location at a glance when necessary.

About the author

teobrito.com

Leave a Comment